Long Weekend

IMG_20150518_184046

This past weekend was Victoria Day in Canada! The man and I road tripped to visit my older brother and his girlfriend. My future mother-in-law looked after not one, but two German Shepherds while we were away. My brother and his darling girlfriend have an annual weekend long 2-4 party with all their friends. The guys go golfing and the girls drink or shop all day. It’s probably one of my favourite weekends of the year! We were so lucky to have gorgeous weather this year and shockingly enough, no rain!

We’ve been looking after my parent’s dog, Cruze, while they’re away on vacation. We’ve had her for two weeks and Ellie loves spending time with her. Cruze is a bit younger than Ellie and has trouble sleeping through the night. I got a glimpse as to what having a newborn will be like as Cruze is up a couple times each night to be let outside. Last night she really got herself into trouble as she decided to chew my most expensive pair of heels while I was fast asleep. I woke up to her being scolded and figured she might have chewed one of the King’s sneakers. Of course not, she ate a pair of heels I bought in Chicago and are no longer made. There are bigger problems in life, so I’m not too upset about it, however she has tons of toys to chew on before resorting to my pumps! We’re lucky that Ellie is not a chewer! Earlier in the day yesterday Cruzey took advantage of our friend grabbing a napkin and she hopped up and ate the pizza off his plate. I couldn’t help but laugh but he was by no means impressed. She’s too damn cute to stay angry at.

One thing I’ve really noticed is how much calmer Ellie is by having a companion around. Her separation anxiety hasn’t been nearly as bad as she’s not as lonely when we go out. I know she’s going to miss Cruze, and if it were the right time or if we had more space we would get her a friend. Having Ellie keeps us very busy as is!

3 thoughts on “Long Weekend

  1. I have a German Shepherd and she has a lot of separation anxiety! She’s so sweet and I love her like my baby but the whining will one day make me go crazy! These two pups are sooo cute! 🙂

    • I swear every German Shep has it! Ellie (our pup) is on medication which has helped a bit. She only whines when we’re leaving so I guess we’re lucky haha!!

Leave a Reply

