50 Shades of Review

50_shades_of_Grey_wallpaper

Curiosity killed the cat. I went to go see 50 Shades knowing I would be disappointed. Once the casting was finalized the gossiping began amongst my friends. The thing is, even though we went into the theatre knowing we’d be let down, we went anyway. I’m sure many people who went to see the film felt the same way. It didn’t matter if they casted A list, B list, or unknown actors. Curiosity would lead every person who’s read or even heard of the book to the theatre.

Strategically opening on Valentine’s Day, the movie pulled in over $81.7 million at the box office over the weekend. Well played. The movie began awkward and simply put, pretty cheesy. I thought Dakota Johnson was okay, however Jamie Dornan was not the right man for the role. I didn’t believe or buy him as Christian Grey. My friends and I compiled a list of others who would’ve fit the role better, physically. These actors include Charlie Hunnam, Christian Bale, Matt Bomer or Chris Hemsworth. Christian is supposed to be this tall, dark, handsome and mysterious type. I found Jamie Dornan to be small, and I was hoping they would make him look taller in the film, however it seemed Dakota would tower over him in heels.  He also found a way to make the role seem even creepier. His eyes seemed like they belonged in a Twilight movie rather than 50 Shades.

The chemistry between them was absent. All in all passion was lacking from the movie.

I’ve yet to talk to anyone who was happy with the movie. What are your thoughts? Who would you have casted as Christian Grey?

Laters baby.

7 thoughts on “50 Shades of Review

  1. I wasn’t happy with Christian’s actor either. Jamie is a handsome man but he definitely doesn’t fit the role. I probably would have chosen Matthew McConaughey – maybe a bit too strong figure, but IMHO he’d have perfectly covered the two sides of Christian’s nature – fascinating and mysterious. Dakota is OK, I like the fact that she is not the usual skinny-to-death Hollywood actress. The whole film was actually annoying, it could have been filmed a thousand times better, with the appropriate sensuality and ardor…

    • Thanks for the comment! I agree! I’m glad Dakota was simple and a plain jane like Anastasia was supposed to be. I just found her to be as boring and awkward as he was at times. It is a let down because as you said it could’ve been done so much better.

  2. I was just told less than ten minutes ago that Jamie Dornan’s wife is forbidding him from doing the sequel movies. I’m not sure how much truth is in that, but it wouldn’t surprise me. In the case that he doesn’t come back and/or isn’t bound to a contract to continue with the other movies, does that mean they are going to start from scratch or simply end it right there?? I personally haven’t read the books although I’ve been told to on many occasions- I enjoyed the movie for what it was worth, and I want to see the sequels, but I was definitely a little disappointed. I was expecting so much more than what they showed. That being said, I’ll be pretty upset if they decide not to continue what they started.

  3. I think they should forget about doing a sequel. Judging from what I’ve seen so far – this movie is bland compared to what it ‘should’ be like… Granted, the conversations in the books and Anastasia’s ‘inner goddess’ comments were a real drag at times but at least you could ‘feel’ the attraction between A & C.

    • I agree with you, I won’t pay more money to sit through the sequel. I have still yet to talk to someone who enjoyed it. I wonder if after all the bad reviews and publicity if they’ll even bother?

Leave a Reply

