Snow Away

tumblr_mjn62dHjo51qfoqnno2_r1_1280

We’ve had our first snow fall. It was so cold and rainy last night that we barely got any tricker treaters. Considering I was prepared for at least 150 kids we have an obnoxious amount of leftover Halloween candy.

I’ve signed up for my first 10km race in November. I’m now realizing how cold this race is going to be and how fun it will be training outside in the snow! The training schedule I’m doing is 4 weeks and I began last Monday. My best friend told me the best way to force yourself to do a race is to sign up. Don’t think about it, just sign up. So I did just that. Then the panic set in that I only have four weeks to train. However, it helps that the pressure is on!

For those interested this is the four week training schedule I’m following:

4 Week Beginner 10K Training Schedule
Week 1:
Day 1: 30 min CT or Rest
Day 2: 2 miles ER
Day 3: 30 min CT or Rest
Day 4: 2 miles ER
Day 5: Rest
Day 6: 3 miles LR
Day 7: 2 miles brisk walk or Rest

Week 2:
Day 1: 30 min CT or Rest
Day 2: 2.5 miles ER
Day 3: 30 min CT or Rest
Day 4: 2.5 miles ER
Day 5: Rest
Day 6: 4 miles LR
Day 7: 2 miles brisk walk or Rest

Week 3:
Day 1: 30 min CT or Rest
Day 2: 3 miles ER
Day 3: 30 min CT or Rest
Day 4: 3 miles ER
Day 5: Rest
Day 6: 5 miles LR
Day 7: 2 miles brisk walk or Rest

Week 4:
Day 1: 3 miles ER
Day 2: 30 min CT or Rest
Day 3: 3 miles ER
Day 4: Rest
Day 5: 2 miles ER
Day 6: Rest
Day 7: Race day!

Leave a Reply

