Embedded

184731_10150098857614751_6875456_n

We grow accustomed to family and friends being in our lives. We grow up with the same friends and family by our sides, go away to school where we’re surrounded by strangers who soon become best friends, and before you know it you’re moving on again.

All of these people have an impact on who we were, who we are, and who we will become. It’s comforting to know you always have someone to lean on, someone who will be there come hell or high water, and no matter how busy life may get, these people will not fall by the wayside. Life moves quickly and stops for no one, when we lose one of these special people we love it can feel like we were hit by a train and all of a sudden our equilibrium is thrown. We have to adjust as we have no other option. I still find myself thinking things like “I wonder what my Poppa would think of this or I wonder what advice Grandma would give about this problem.” They’re still with me every single day. They’re embedded into my life and nothing can take that away.

I’m lucky to have many people in my life who have stood by me through thick and thin. My parents support me no matter what my goals and aspirations are, my friends pick me up when I fall or take me to get a strong drink when words and hugs can’t solve an issue. Don’t take these people for granted. Ensure you’re always there for them too, we all need someone to vent to, someone who gets us, someone who will always be on our side even if we’re wrong, and someone who loves us unconditionally.

One thought on “Embedded

Leave a Reply

