Slow Down

Image

I’m full of ideas, goals, aspirations, and generally I’m a person that has a to do list on the go. This particular to do list is always growing and never ending. I don’t write it down, it’s kept in memory where there is plenty of room to add on a thing or two.

I’m constantly running on high gear, and sometimes need to remind myself to slow it down. I want to accomplish too many things at once and can find myself overwhelmed. We all do this. We pile too much on our plate, in a literal sense. Think of it as a thanksgiving dinner, there’s so much you want to eat and enjoy, but you cannot possibly finish it all in one sitting. You pile too much food on your plate anyhow and stare defeat in the eyes as the remaining food on your dish taunts you. Voila, the joy of leftovers. If we take one thing at a time, little by little, we will accomplish everything that needs to done. When we’re kicked into high speed, we don’t take time to enjoy the little things in life.

Don’t lie awake at night and run through all the things that must be done when you awake. It will keep you up, I know from experience. Rather, slow down, live in the now.

Stay present, stay positive.

5 thoughts on “Slow Down

  1. One of my favorite quotes is “slow down, happiness is trying to catch you.” I started seriously slowing down around a year ago and it dramatically changed my life for the better. We want to believe we have so much to do yet we forget we schedule how we spend our time. There are some things worth giving up. Some things we can’t give up. We need to recognize the difference. Great post my friend 😉

Leave a Reply

