Benefit of the Doubt

ImageImage

Today was my last day of University. I wrote my final exam and it hasn’t yet sunk in that I’m actually finished. I was stuck in traffic getting back to the city and was stuck crawling as there was a bad accident. Fire trucks and ambulances were rushing up the shoulder and some people weren’t bothering to stop or move over. It’s terribly frustrating because for all they know it could be someone they cared about that was in the accident. Or what if was them? They would want help as soon as possible too.

Giving people the benefit of the doubt is something I try to do often, and it can be challenging. If someone’s late, perhaps they have good reason. Maybe they had more important things to do before meeting with me. If someone cuts me off in traffic, or speeds up onto my bumper, maybe they have somewhere they need to be. Perhaps their kid needs picked up from school, or their wife is having a baby. If someone in front of me in line at the grocery store is bartering or harassing the cashier for a lower price on their spaghetti, maybe they can’t spare the extra money. You can see I play up many stories in my mind as to why mankind may be doing wrong. The reason I think this way is because I’ve had hardships happening in my life when others have disrespected or treated me poorly, and it isn’t fun by any means. Yet, I cannot hold it against professors, or friends, strangers, or whoever had upset me because they were oblivious as to what was going on at that exact point in time.

The thing is, we don’t know the truth in regards to everyone’s life behind closed doors. We have no idea what is going on in someone’s life. So treat everyone with kindness, give people the benefit of the doubt.

Create good karma for yourself.

 

2 thoughts on “Benefit of the Doubt

  1. This is good.my parents went through a heavy separation when I was young and I’ve always said “you don’t know the hell someone may be living in behind closed doors..so don’t be quick to judge.”

Leave a Reply

