Sheltered Life

Image

I’m aware. I’m aware of the rights and freedoms that I have that others do not. Living in Canada, women and men are meant to be equal. Whether we have completely achieved that is up for debate. We’re protected under the charter of rights and freedoms. We take for granted how good we have it, and the sacrifies others would make to be in our position.

We have access to universal healthcare, and education opportunities. If I go to the emergency room and see a doctor, I’m treated or diagnosed free of charge. I struggle with the thought that individuals would argue against universal healthcare. You will need it at some point, someone you know and love will use it, your health is the most important aspect of your life.

I’m grateful. I appreciate the resources I have access to. We forget how lucky we are. I’ve never experienced poverty. I have empathy for those who have. If we continue to gain an appreciation for how blessed we’ve been in our lives, perhaps it will ignite the will, and drive to help those who have not been as fortunate.

Donate to your local food bank, donate old clothes, or volunteer at a homeless shelter. Don’t pass by homeless individuals with the mind set that they deserve to live that way. They’re human beings, no one deserves to experience suffrage, but it’s a reality of our world. So the next time you’re walking by someone who’s homeless, drop the judgement, bias, and negative thoughts, don’t avoid eye contact and speed up. Stop and do what you can.

I worked in Chicago a couple of summers ago and I would pass a homeless man everyday, in the same spot. He sat in the shade as it was a scorching hot summer, and collected change throughout the day. He would be there when I arrived at work at 8am, and still there at 5pm when I left. Each day I tried to pack an extra granola bar, piece of fruit, and water to give to him. We would exchange good mornings and he always had a smile on his face. If I didn’t have food on hand I’d give him a few dollars. Five dollars isn’t going to make a difference in my life, but it could mean eating vs. missing a meal and starving for homeless individuals.

Be aware that some families do not have enough to eat every day, and struggle to find or maintain adequate housing. In this cold winter we’ve had in Ontario, some individuals are unable to afford heat. Help others, your actions will be appreciated, and you will feel good about yourself in the process.

Keep informed, stay knowledgeable.

Leave a Reply

