Home

Image

I grew up in a small town in Ontario. I lived in the same house my whole life before moving to University. I moved into a small residence, then into a small apartment, and again into a larger apartment. I moved three times in four years. Home is comfortable. It’s where you feel safe, cozy, and at ease. It’s where we unwind and relax. The place we crave after a long day, where we curl up when we’re sick, and maintain a sense of equilibrium. It’s where we’re accepted, appreciated, and loved. It’s where we get greeted by loved ones and pets. It’s the reason we get homesick. Even after we’ve travelled to beautiful and exotic places, we always exclaim how good it is to be home once we’ve returned.

For me, recently home has been many different locations. It has been my house where I grew up, my apartment, my boyfriend’s house, and now our house. What I’ve learned and realized over the past couple years is that home isn’t necessarily a particular location or place. Rather, it’s whom you’re surrounded by.

I’m at home when I’m with my friends and family. They are my comfort zone. I can express myself freely without fear of being judged or misinterpreted. I can vent, joke, and speak freely. I’m at home with my boyfriend. We can be in different cities, countries, on vacation far away, but as long as I’m with him I’m at home. I’m safe, loved, and deeply cared for. It’s a feeling you get. When you find the person you feel at home with, it’s an indication you’ve found the right one. As conventional as it may sound, home really is where the heart is.

“Where we love is home- home that our feet may leave, but not our hearts.”

-Oliver Wendell Holmes Sr. 

 

Leave a Reply

