Sweet Like Candy

Image

I received an email a few weeks back from a close friend of mine that I’ve had since high school. She’s a sweetheart and is always thinking of others before herself which I find tremendously admirable. She has a huge heart, and a beautiful soul. We text and exchange goofy pictures daily, but she sent me a special letter telling me how great of a friend I’ve been. She said I’ve always supported her and been there for her in times of need. She went on to give compliments I do not think I am worthy of. It was such a heartfelt letter, it got me thinking that I wish we told people how we feel about them on a normal basis.

She did this for no reason, I hadn’t done anything spectacular for her lately. Rather she thanked me for taking care of her when she was sick, providing a shoulder to cry on when a guy let her down, and always having an ear when she needed to vent.

She has inspired me to do this more often on a regular basis. Tell people what they mean to you while you have the chance. Tell your friends and family you love them. There’s no shame in expressing emotion or feelings. Life happens, we get caught up in our constant busy days, and sometimes we forget to thank our friends or family for doing us favours, or just generally being there for us.

I’ve also experienced tragedy. Even though I think I’m fairly good at expressing how I feel about people to them, I would give anything to tell treasured ones that I’ve lost that I love them just one last time.

So call your mom, dad, sister, brother, best friend, spare some time to make someones day by telling them what they mean to you.

Leave a Reply

