Don’t Sweat The Small Stuff

Image

My mother has told me this saying since I was young. I would stress about making a team, a test, an exam, getting into university, and she would say “don’t sweat the small stuff.” I’ve held on to this as she would reinforce her advice by telling me that not making a team, not acing a test, not getting into the exact university I wanted did not define me as a person. She would tell me to do my best, because it’s all I can do. This is still something I repeat to myself, in my fourth year of University, before every exam. Inhale. Exhale. Then tell myself that all I can do is my best, and that’s perfectly good enough for me.

I’ve been consciously trying to make an effort to be more of a big picture person. Focusing on the grand scheme of things rather than pouring my energy into minuscule events which won’t matter down the road. It isn’t worth stressing ourselves out, and worrying constantly about things we cannot control. Put the work in, know you’ve done all you can do, and give it everything you’ve got.

3 thoughts on “Don’t Sweat The Small Stuff

Leave a Reply

